FarmVille

Join your friends in FarmVille, the world’s biggest farming game! Grow hundreds of crops, trees, and animals! More added every day

Need more FarmVille Friends?

Let's connect and help each other progress!

Friends

Picture?type=square

Light-bulbFacebook Places [millions of members of facebook didn't knew about this]

Please_share
by Ғасєвффк Әят - Aug 29, 2010 Star_s472 views

Facebook has launched a new feature called 'Places'. By this feature you can find out, "from where your friends are logged in as well as from where you are logged in". It gives the actual address and map location of where you and your friends logged in.
Facebook has launched this feature without any notification to their millions of members. Majority of us don't want to share this 'Places' information with rest of the world! so if you are one of them, which don't want to share your 'Places of logged in", then go at HERE and fellow the steps!
Thank You

Replies (3)

Sort by: Newest · Oldest · Likes
12-em-plus add reply
Picture?type=square

This Facebook feature is only available on smart phones.  The user actualy has to click the "Check In" button on the facebook app and select one of several nearby location points which will post your location on your friends news feed.  There is an article explaining how it works at CNN.com.

Picture?type=square

Here is accurate info...

In the last week or so I have seen people passing around inaccurate information via a post... It reads as follows:
DO IMMEDIATELY!!!!Facebook launched Facebook Places yesterday. Anyone can find out where you are when you are logged in. It gives the actual address & map location of where you are as you use Facebook. Make sure your kids know. ......TO UNDO: go to"Account", "Account Settings","Notifications", then scroll down to "Plac...es" and uncheck the 2 boxes. Make sure to SAVE changes and re-post this!!!

This is not true AT ALL... First of all this application is currently ONLY available for mobile devices (IPhone and Touch Phones with Touch Facebook downloaded on them). Secondly, in order for people to see your "Place" you need to "check in" (you physically need to select this on your phone). Also depending on how you have your account set, will determine WHO can actually see this info (ie, Friends, Everyone, Specific Friends only). Another important note, especially for my friends with kids you have FB accounts - this is automatically defaulted for account holders under 18 to only be viewable to Friends... Please read below for the official info from Facebook... Hope this eases people's minds...

Get the Facts about Places

There is a false rumor that Facebook shares your location without your knowledge or consent. You control your information on Facebook. With Places, you choose when to share your location by checking in or allowing friends to check you in. Your location is never given to anyone automatically.

Places is a Facebook feature that allows you to see where your friends are and share your location in the real world. When you use Places, you'll be able to see if any of your friends are currently checked in nearby and connect with them easily. You can check into nearby Places to tell your friends where you are, tag your friends in the Places you visit, and view comments your friends have made about the Places you visit. Use Places to experience connecting with people on Facebook in a completely new way.

At this time, the Places application is available to users in the United States with mobile access to the Facebook application for iPhone or touch.facebook.com. Places will be rolled out more broadly and to other mobile devices and the web in the future.

You control and own all of the information you contribute to Facebook, including your Places information. You decide how and with whom you share. Your location is never automatically shared: not when you use your mobile device, not when you use the Facebook application and not when you use the Places feature. Your location is only ever shared when you check in to a Place. You have full control over whether and with whom you share your check-ins.

In the "Customize settings" section of your main privacy settings, simply select the drop-down box next to "Places I check in to" and select one of the four recommended settings: Everyone, Friends and Networks, Friends of Friends, or Friends Only. Alternatively, you can make the locations you check in to visible to or hidden from specific people by clicking "Custom."

You can also control whether or not your friends can check you in to a Place by selecting "Enable" or "Disable" in the box next to "Friends can check me in to Places." Just as with photos, your friends can tag you at Places they check into. You can always remove your name when a friend tags you.

Do privacy settings work differently for Places users who are under 18 years old?

Yes. We reduce the visibility of information for anyone under 18. With the Places application in particular, minors will be able to share their locations only with their friends on Facebook. Even if a minor has set his or her information as visible to Everyone, the setting will automatically be restricted when using the Places application and only his or her friends will be able to see Places he or she has visited.

Showing 3 of 3 comments